• Serve as an ex-officio member of all Committees.

• Direct and coordinate the work of the standing and special committees and ensure that all officers of the Union fulfill their respective duties.

Standing Committees

Standing committees shall be chaired by members of the Executive Board appointed by the President and approved by the Executive Board for a term of two (2) years.

The President and Executive Board may create the following standing committees:

a) By-Laws and Constitution
b) Communications
c) Disability Management
d) Diversity and Equity Issues
e) Education and Training
f) Occupational Health and Safety
g) Organizational and Technological Change
h) Strategic Policy Development
i) Recruitment/Selection
j) Social Services
k) Workload

Appointed & Ad-Hoc Standing Committees

The Committee will be lead by a Chairperson who shall be comprised of appointments rendered by the President subject to the approval of the Executive Board. The appointed Chair shall have voice but no vote at Executive Board meetings, Council meetings and Conventions. The Committee shall continue until replaced by motion of the Executive Board. Committee Chair appointment’s apply to the following committees:
a) Benefits
b) Board Employee Claims
c) Inclusions/Exclusions
d) Job Evaluation
e) Pensions
f) Young Workers

Officer Committees

The Treasurer and Chief Steward shall chair the following committees respectively:
a) Finance
b) Grievance